UiTV Search





Navratri Celebrations - Things you need to know!

The godess that everyone prays on the navratri festival

India. March 30. UITV. Navratri also spelled Navaratri or Navarathri, is a multi-day Hindu festival celebrated in the autumn every year. It is observed for different reasons and celebrated differently in various parts of the Indian subcontinent.

In the eastern and northeastern states of India, the Durga Puja is synonymous with Navratri, wherein goddess Durga battles and emerges victorious over the buffalo demon to help restore Dharma.

Theoretically, there are four seasonal Navratri. However, in practice, it is the post-monsoon autumn festival called Sharad Navratri that is the most observed in the honor of the divine feminine Devi (Durga).

During Navratri, people from villages and cities gather to perform 'puja' on small shrines representing different aspects of Goddess Durga, including Goddess Lakshmi and Goddess Saraswati. 

Kanya puja on the eighth day of Navaratri is considered to be of a high religious significance and the most adorable way to please Goddess Durga, a symbol of naari shakti (women power).

Celebrated twice a year, the first Navratri that falls in the month of March or April is known as Chaitra Navratri. Most devotees of goddess Durga observe a fast for nine days, though some observe it for only two days.

The delicious food that is cooked during the festival


During the fast, one is meant to abstain from everyday grains like wheat, but can consume fruits, milk, tea, coffee, potatoes and one meal of sago food preparations--such as kuttu (singhada) atta and special rice. Instead of regular table salt, sendha (sea) salt is used for cooking.

Chaitra Navratri 2017 Dates

Navratri Day 1 - March 28, 2017 (Tuesday) - Ghatsthapana, Shailputri Puja
Day 2 (Dwitiya) - March 29, 2017 (Wednesday) - Chandra Darshan, Brahmacharini Puja
Day 3 (Tritiya) - March 30, 2017 (Thursday) - Chandraghanta Puja
Day 4 (Chaturthi) - March 31, 2017 (Friday) - Kushmanda Puja
Day 5 (Panchami) - April 1, 2017 (Saturday) - Lakshmi Panchami, Skandamata Puja, Skanda Sashti
Day 6 (Shashthi) - April 2, 2017 (Sunday) - Katyayani Puja
Day 7 (Saptami) - April 3, 2017 (Monday) - Kalaratri Puja
Day 8 (Ashtami) - April 4, 2017 (Tuesday) - Sri Durga Mahaashtami
Day 9 (Navami) - April 5, 2017 (Wednesday)- Ram Navami
Chaitra Navratri ends


Hari Om